Spirituality truly is a War. And I’d want this guy on my side.

I know a man.

His name is John Moon.

He’s iconic in the sense that if you ever saw him, you’d never forget him. He’s a husband, a father and a Christian. And he’s a warrior.

Sure, he played high school football and was great. He played college football and was great. Even still he fills his spare time with martial arts type activities. But, this is not the truly impressive part of Big Moon. This is just the ‘Saul’ of Mr. Moon. The mercenary.

The spiritual warrior, the ‘Paul’ of John Moon, is below:

Gentlemen,

On the way home from LaFogata last time I had an opportunity to reflect on the sermon we were fortunate to hear yesterday morning at Cowboy Church.

I realized exactly how much our Lord had used this time to speak to me directly. I, as many of you, have been dealing with the increased stress placed on my life by the current downturn of the construction industry and the financial status of our country. I have allowed the stresses to come between me and my personal relationship with God. I have been traveling the wrong way on a one way street and the horns of oncoming cars were falling on deaf ears.

Two events of the last week broke through the barrier I had built up and I wanted to share this with you.

I allowed my pride to violate the unconditional trust my wife had in me when I made a financial decision affecting our family without including her in the process. Our marriage has always been based on us relying on each other and prayer to make these decisions and I made this without them.

The second is I did not give of my time and resources to STRRF to justify being one that deserves to be associated with such a dedicated group.

God has placed in my life many areas in which his presence is known but, none as great as the relationship with my wife and all the men on STRRF.

Christ told the 12 disciples to go out and proclaim the good news and I believe he has also placed all of us together to do this as well. We are a select group of men that have been blessed with the abilities and resources to bring great numbers of people together for the enrichment of lives. Seeing and being apart of your lives has made me a better person and I thank all of you for that. I want all of you to know your relationships are those of family. You all deserve the best and in the following months, as I work with God and rebuild our relationship, I will be at my best. As we move forward with growing all the areas of ranch rodeo, and we will move forward, we will all experience increased stresses on our lives. We must always know our strengths come from above. Even the largest of men cannot do it all on their own (I know).

I challenge all of you to increase your communication on a daily basis with Christ. When you feel like you don’t have the time is when you need to take more.

Thank you for your friendships and for allowing God to communicate through you to me. For that, I will always be in your debt.

John Moon

I know John from my involvement with Ranch Rodeo. The above is an email he sent out that delivered the official results from our finals called the South Texas Ranch Rodeo Finals. After reading this, I shouldn’t have to tell you that I am truly blessed by the group of individuals involved with the STRRF. I’m not going to try and pull inspiration from this letter in order to share a lesson with you. It’s all right there. Thank John for today’s message.


Further Reading:
How to Communicate Effectively – Shut Up

3 thoughts on “Spirituality truly is a War. And I’d want this guy on my side.

  1. As I read John’s post and the comments,I looked over at the Bible I keep on a side desk in my office.It was open to this scripture.I began to read Hebrews 10:32-36.The key verse might just be this:
    “Do not throw away this confident trust in the Lord,NO MATTER WHAT HAPPENS.Remember the great reward it brings you!PATIENT ENDURANCE is what you need now,so you will continue to do God’s will.Then you will receive all that he has promised.”vs 35-36.
    For me,God continues to remind me to focus on Him,not on the world around me.Stay in His word.Pray often and be sensitive to those God sends your way.
    We are in a battle and as soldiers ,part of our responsibity is to make sure,our fellow soldiers are not left in the dirt exposed to the attacks of Satan.
    I have your back Big John.March on brother

Leave a Reply

