And it’s Thursday Again

SunriseOh man, God saw me coming this morning. I think I have mentioned how much I enjoy the changing sky on here before. Especially weather changes, but sunrise/sunset too. So, yesterday morning not even ten or so minutes after sunrise. This is what I see.

Not this exactly, since I still haven’t found my camera. Going to buy a new one soon though, so stay tuned. Anyway, it was as close to this as you can get. The bottom half of the burning sun pushed through the base of the cloud line in a brilliant red and scattered rays straight up and out from the clouds in all directions. It was amazing. And just south of Pleasanton.

Sun RaysThen, in Georgewest it happened again. Not quite as burning red hot, but more rays. They were everywhere. I just broke into a huge smile and said a quiet thank you. It was going to be a great day.

That wasn’t even the end of it. OK, I know what your thinking, this kook is making this up now, but I wouldn’t have any reason to do that. I mean, I’m writing for maybe my wife, mother and probably two other people here. Three max. 😉

SunraysAnyway, pulling into Beeville with Mellow Yellow, Cool Hand Luke and Bugsy in tow, the cloudy sky is just blown apart by the sun. And as I pull by the old Mighty Might on 59 it’s as bright as I can stand it. Then it hit me. I’m in one of the rays. It’s one of those things where you can’t really tell, but you know by looking around you that the sun is only hitting the ground in a select few places. So if you were a good ways off looking toward me, there would be my deer dented chevy dually, aluminum gooseneck cattle trailer and three of the best colts in South Texas cruisin through Our Lord’s spotlight. I know it sounds cheesy, but it was freakin awesome.

Well, then we moved telephone poles all morning. Back to reality. The power, or phone, or some company came through the ranch pulling new cable and putting new poles into the ground and guess who got to move all of the old ones. Yours truly and my Dad, Morgan. One blue New Holland Tractor, one round bale trailer and four hours later we were done. Piece of cake.

Now it’s 2:30 ish and the county roping is this weekend. That can only mean one thing. We rope. That’s three weeks in a row I got to come down here and rope. This is just getting ridiculous. Too much fun. My brother John came up so he and both my uncles and my dad all roped. That is what life’s about. I can’t imagine a better way to spend an afternoon. Again, wish I had the camera. This is running a little long anyway so maybe it’s for the best.

I guess if there’s anything to be pulled from this beautiful day, it’s that we need to slow down enough to realize when we are having a beautiful day. Every one of them is a gifted hundred dollar bill. Spend it slowly. And spend it with the right people.

2 thoughts on “And it’s Thursday Again

  1. Yes, there is nothing like God showing off for you and what a canvas the sky is… You are blessed to get to see it. Glad you recognize His hand at work.

Leave a Reply

