33 Miles


If not for the headlights of a 2009 Black GMC Pickup, we would have worked in total darkness. It was anything but quiet. That GMC’s engine hummed, small talk consumed the men hovering over their work and several sounded like a roller coaster… loud Loud LOUDER silence theories hope surprise loud Loud LOUDER and so it went. You see, the only other sound in the night was the crackling of a struggling radio station trying to reach South Texas all the way from College Station.

The Aggies were playing.

We had just wrapped up a wonderful weekend of washer throwing, dove hunting, and yes… an occasional adult beverage. πŸ˜‰


A good friend of mine has been inviting a group of his friends down to South Texas to hunt dove once a year for three or four years now. The group usually averages 10 head, give or take 1 or 2. And I didn’t know a damn one of ’em until my close friend introduced me to them. Well, I knew a couple, but the majority I had never laid my eyes on.

The house above is where we all stay during the weekend that has definitely become something to look forward to.

Well, I thought I had a good idea regarding what to expect since I’ve known our host since I could walk. But I had no idea. What a great group of guys. Another reminder for me to get out there – build relationships – and enjoy God’s creation.


Well, we finished up cleaning the dove. The game had wound to a close – Aggies 52, Tech 30 – just in case you were wondering. πŸ˜‰ So we hopped in the truck and were headed back to the house shown at the top of this post.

33 miles.

That’s what the dashboard displayed for the range of the truck based upon how much gas was left. Really?!?! I wanted to rake my buddy over the coals for idling a truck for an hour and a half when it was about to run out of gas.

So, um… I did. And so did everybody else. πŸ˜‰

“I’ve still got 33 miles,” he said.
“That’s plenty to get over to Kenedy and get some gas.”

Well, it wasn’t. We sat on the side of the road and waited for a couple of the other guys to get to us with some gasoline.

The really cool part about all of this is that my wife called while we sat there in the dark waiting. That short little conversation prompted an additional dialog between my buddy and me. It was special. I’d like to share it here, but it’s a bit personal.

Here’s the point: Sometimes we know exactly where we’re headed. We may even have technology, experience, or whatever else to ensure us that we know exactly where we’re headed. But we don’t. And regardless of what the range finder might say, we will be on the side of the road. Often.

Today’s first reading has a verse that reads:

You are no longer strangers and sojourners,
but you are fellow citizens with the holy ones
and members of the household of God.

Spend some time to build new relationships. Who knows who you could help… or who could help you.

Leave a Reply

