Wounds and Medicine Thursday

Southward bound again on a beautiful Thursday morning. And then I get to Three Rivers.

Rain. Big rain.

Well, I’ve had my head down lately with work and for some reason did not realize that one week after the ranch got 7.5 inches of rain, we were due for some more. Alot more. The Three Rivers truck stop allowed me a place to grab a cup of coffee until it cleared enough for me to see the highway.

My tardy arrival at the ranch was not met with much aggravation though since everyone was just feeding and watching it rain. Not much happens when it gets that wet.

Camera in hand, I got a quick shot of the next wave before it unloaded another torrent of rainfall.

So we headed to town.

There is nothing… nothing, like a rainy day routine.


Stop 1: Taco Shop
Cast of Characters:
– Robert Quiroga
– Taco Lady (Ma’am, I’m sorry I don’t know your name. But please understand that you’re a taquito genius. A goddess of bacon, egg, beans and cheese. And the primary reason we went to Beeville Thursday monring. 😉 )

So…
As soon as we (My Dad, Morgan, and I) walked in, the gentleman behind the counter, Mr. Quiroga, started in on us. His focus was on the fact that he had not seen the rest of the crew yet that morning. (Mick, Dick, Bo and Kelley) He insisted that Morgan needed to switch trucks.

“They got a GPS on you,” he said. “They’re one step ahead of ya’ll.”

He had a good chuckle and Morgan visited with him for a second while we paid up. We had our tacos and headed out.

Stop 2: Tractor Supply
Cast of Characters:
– Robert Lopez
– Julie Harwell
– Rocky Koplin

No rainy day trip to town is complete without a stop at Tractor Supply Company. We probably shook hands and shot the breeze with ten different people. But, I remembered Robert from some team ropings quite awhile back. It was good to see him again. Looked like he had it all under control working there at TSC.

Rocky stopped us and talked. And talked. You know the kind. But, I’m not saying it was bad. It was actually pretty entertaining. You can learn alot from folks like that if you’re patient.

I found a saddle/blanket rack that I’d been unable to locate. And there was Julie… with her price gun. She got it down to shoot it with the price gun.

“Damn, if I’d known you were going to have to pull it down just to get the price for me, I wouldn’t have bothered you with it,” I said.

“Well, you’re gonna buy it so I might as well go on and get it down,” she fired back.

$69.00

That’s what the gun read.

Great, she was right. Wish I hadn’t asked. Five minutes later I was walking out of Tractor Supply with a saddle rack on my arm. But hey, it was a good price.


Stop 3: Bee Agriculture
Cast of Characters: (from left in the picture below)
– Morgan O’Brien
– Frank
– Mr. Boling
– Mr. Leo

There is no education like the education you can get at the feed store. Everybody has an opinion and none of them are afraid to hold it back. The sign that hangs over those three chairs reads, “Friends Gather Here.”

To an outsider, you wouldn’t think that was the case. It can get pretty heated in there. But, no more applicable sign has ever been hung. They rip one another regularly, interrupt stories and try to trip up a story enough to declare that it’s all bologna.

A quick excerpt:

“Young man, you need to get down to my place and see some real nice cows,” Mr. Boling said to me. “Your Dad bought some good cows from me a while back and now he has those black things runnin’ everywhere.”

Morgan looks over at me and informs me that Mr. Boling is a Beefmaster breeder.

“That’s right. Those are good cattle. That Angus bunch had to go and spend all kinds of money advertising and marketing. Those good Beefmaster cows sell themselves.”

Mr. Leo snatched the rare pause to interject, “I picked up one of those Nolan Ryan steaks the other day. That’s a Beefmaster product. Well, it was the toughest steak I ever put in my mouth.”

Before Mr. Boling could defend his Beefmasters, Morgan jumped in.

“Yea, they had a taste test where they put that Beefmaster beef right next to that Angus beef, and the fork just melted right into that Angus beef. I don’t know if they got it into that Beefmaster beef yet.”

“Well then let’s just go look at ’em. It’s not too wet. We can get right on the fence and you can see for yourself how good those Beefmasters are,” said Mr. Boling.

He’d had enough, but he didn’t have any takers on going to look at his cows so the subject changed pretty quick.

Suffice it to say that there were MANY other stories, advisory comments, jokes etc. told that morning.

But here’s the gist: Life is not about accomplishments. Life is about connections.

Take time to converse with people. Surround yourself with good people, but don’t avoid the others. You may be who they are trying to surround themselves with. 😉

So take the jabs from your friends with a smile and rejoice in their fellowship. Those conversations are good medicine.

Proverbs 27:6

Wounds from a friend are better than many kisses from an enemy.

Proverbs 17:22
A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a broken spirit saps a person’s strength.


Don’t know what the heck the deal is with Thursdays?
Start Here

Here are all of the Thursday posts.

Leave a Reply

