UPDATE: What do you want to do when you grow up?

OK, so several folks have called me out in regards to the last SpiritualHorseman.com post – Cooking Up Dreams – saying that I didn’t answer the question.

The question in the post was: What do you want to do when you grow up?

Well, this is the most specific I can get:

I want to do work that causes me to learn new things about myself.

Do I want to get affirmation as to how fantastic I am? 😉 No… Gah! OK, maybe a little 😉 jk

That’s not it at all. I want to be driven, but uncomfortable as in a new territory – causing impact, but humble like a newborn leader. The uneasiness within the mystery that is “letting God lead” enables me to understand my own abilities better – learn about relationships with my fellow man – and ultimately build a stronger relationship with God.

I really don’t think it matters what you do – only how you do it. Father Ed once said that faith could be defined as a willingness to participate in mystery. Well, work that pushes you just beyond your comfort zone demands that kind of participation. And we find that it also delivers an enormous amount of fulfillment.

Young horses that are destined to be great are only destined for greatness because of the people that inspire them. Wait… horses are inspired? Well, who knows? The point is that the young horse is taught to perform in a certain manner. The horse that wins is not made to do anything. That horse is put in positions that require a certain response. That horse is pushed just beyond it’s comfort zone – every day. That horse is inspired. And that horse goes on to win.

In life, you’re the young horse. And the great part about being you is that you have a choice. Actually you have two choices.

You choose your “trainer”.
You choose your work.

Choose well.

Share

Leave a Reply

