The Fallen

Most of these posts involve action. Go. Do. Take action.

Well, it’s not always about action, inspiration and impact. We’re human. And we fall.

“Lord… God… I have fallen. The haze is clearing only to reveal that my sin began much earlier than any actual deed I committed. Forgive me, guide me and protect my heart from evil. I’ve lost my way. Where do I go from here, Lord? What do I do?”

Continue.

“Continue”, He says. The haze clears a bit more and I’m reminded of the laundry list of sinners and losers used by God and Christ.

  • Noah got drunk.
  • Abraham lied about his wife.
  • Jacob was a deceiver.
  • Moses murdered an Egyptian.
  • Rahab was a harlot.
  • Samson had serious problems with lust and anger.
  • David was an adulterer.
  • Paul persecuted the church.
  • Peter denied Christ.

Their life experience, including their sin, made these people the kind who could be used effectively by Christ. Some of these acts we may be committing every day. Some of these acts are VERY serious. BUT, they all have one thing in common – they are forgiven. Now this is NOT a justification to do wrong. God knows our intentions and forgiveness is granted to the contrite heart that resolves to sin no more. However, what happens AFTER we fall is what’s most important.

My favorite prayer for forgiveness is David’s (and the Act of Contrition). It’s Psalm 51 and my favorite verses are 10 and 11:

Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me.
Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from me.

There’s good news. David was quite the sinner. Read Psalm 32 when you get a chance. It’s David expressing joy after receiving forgiveness.

God doesn’t keep score. (thank goodness) God is not interested in where we’ve been. God is only interested in what’s next.

And so we continue.


Well that was heavy and there weren’t any horses mentioned. So, let’s um… continue 😉

roan-horse-bucking

I start unbroke youngsters often. I used to love it. Actually, I still love it, it just hurts more than it used to 😉

Sometimes I can brush a horse and know the storm is coming. Sometimes I can catch a horse, brush him, saddle him and even ride him for a while and BAM it comes out of nowhere.

What’s surprising to so many folks is that it doesn’t concern me. Now, if it continues for weeks or months, then yes that will be slightly disconcerting 😉 But, a bucking young horse is just that…. young.

After 30 days, that guy is spinning a little, catching leads, tracking cattle and stopping. If someone asks me about him, that’s what I tell them. I don’t dwell on his first days. He’s a young horse. Some young horses pitch in the beginning.

Well, we are human. We fall. I can’t speak for God, but I doubt He’s very concerned by our fall – only by what we do next.

5 thoughts on “The Fallen

  1. Sure glad to see your posts again! This was a good one. Really good. I love how much spirituality you find in these amazing creatures. And the fact that you share it with us.

  2. Love that you are posting to Spiritual Horseman again. This one was especially thought provoking. Thank you!

  3. James, I loved your new post. I am always excited when you write one. Everything ties together, just like life does.

    Loyce

  4. James & Tonni

    I stumbled across your blog again tonight …. I have been here before and did not take the time to respond – Why? I am certain I had reservations , but despite those I want to say I have enjoyed reading tonight “The Fallen”. I would like to thank-you for investing in my daughter – she has often spoke so highly of you and Tonni and many times unbeknownst to you and your family we have uttered your names in prayer…. Thank-you for taking time to reach my daughter and help her to see the strength within and work for what was important or a desire to her. I truly believe the Horse to be a magnificent expression of Gods beauty and strength and my Girl has always been very drawn to this magnificent creature. She would call me while working long hard days with you and Tonni and sometimes mumble but yet growing stronger in many ways… I remember her calling one specific time and she had hurt herself ( not life threatening but something I am sure that if given the chance could have allowed her to take it easy) You pushed her to go beyond and not succumb to a momentary state of uncomfortableness but press on and accomplish the goal. Isn’t that what it is all about ? Pressing on and going Through and fighting the Good Fight? Thank-you for your investment and time you have given.

Leave a comment